Quick update

Hello all,

Just a quick post by way of update: I had a nasty bout of food poisoning recently which laid me low for a bit, and then I had a much needed holiday. I’m now back but a bit buried at work.

Normal service should resume before too long with my much overdue review of Penelope Fitzgerald’s The Bookshop. If you can’t wait and don’t already know it the precis version is simple: it’s brilliant; read it. It’ll be on my end of year list.

Otherwise, I’ll probably skip properly reviewing several of my recent reads either because they were full-on SF (always a standby when I’m under the weather) which doesn’t interest most of my readers here or they were a bit disappointing. I’ll do a round-up post though just to say what they were with a paragraph or two on each.

That’s pretty much it for now. Apologies for all the great posts by others that I’ve seen and read but not commented on – after three weeks or so though there’s so many that I’m only going to respond on the backlog where I have a specific query or thought to raise.

See you all soon.

9 Comments

Filed under Personal posts

9 responses to “Quick update

  1. Jonathan

    Glad to know you’re on the mend. These illnesses sure can take it out of you.

  2. Thanks Jonathan. Yes, it was nothing serious but it certainly laid me low all the same. I’m still not entirely 100% to be honest.

    Still, that’s why we have comfort novels, which in my case tend to involve spaceships and aliens and grand stellar adventures. I actually don’t remotely think SF is necessarily escapist literature, but it certainly can be and there’s nothing wrong anyway with the occasional escape.

  3. Sorry to hear about the nasty bout of food poisoning – that must have been very grim indeed. It sounds as though that holiday came just at the right time…

    As for The Bookshop, yes, yes, yes! I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much. It’s so brilliantly observed. Really looking forward to reading your review, whenever you have the time and mental energy to write it. Take care.

  4. lizoksbookshelf

    I’m also glad to hear you’re feeling better — stomach ailments are no fun and recovery can take some serious time. For now, enjoy the spaceships and aliens!

  5. Thanks all! It has been a bit grim and I’m still surprisingly tired given none of it was actually serious in the grand scheme of things, but there you go. Probably a bit more SF for a couple of weeks then I really want to get back to some of the Mexican and South American fiction I picked up recently.

  6. Sorry to hear about the food poisoning. I hope you’ll feel like yourself soon.
    I hope you weren’t too ill to enjoy your holidays.
    It’s nice to have your back and I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts about The Bookshop. I liked it too.

  7. I enjoy writing reviews of books I really hated. The difficult ones for me to write are for the ones that I didn’t get excited about but weren’t really lousy either.

  8. Thanks Emma. The Bookshop will probably go up some time next week.

    Tony, definitely. I enjoy writing about books I’ve loved. It’s not too hard to write about books I strongly disliked (there’s usually a solid reason after all). But books that were a bit meh? That’s hard.

Leave a Reply

