If you’re here through Freshly Pressed…

So, I’ve been listed on Freshly Pressed (thanks WordPress editors!) and if you’re reading this you may well have found my blog because of that.

Firstly, welcome and please feel free to leave comments (though you don’t have to of course).

Secondly, as you’ve probably already worked out this is a reading blog. How it works is that I write up each book I read. Mostly it’s literary fiction (including modernist and experimental works), but also some crime, SF and whatever else may take my fancy.

Thirdly, if you scroll down on the right hand side you’ll find a link titled A random post. If you click on that link you’ll be taken to a random blog entry from my archive. Give it a try, it’s a fun feature (well, fun for me anyway – if there’s anything literary bloggers love it’s people digging up old reviews). If you do wander into the older posts, again comments are totally welcome.

Finally, each year I do an end of year round-up post in which I talk about the best books I read that year. You can find those posts, for each of 2009 to 2012, in the Annual Reviews section on the right. You’ll also find there my two Personal Canon posts, where I talk about the writers who were most important to me as a teenager and the ones who’re most important now.

That’s it really. Thanks for dropping by, and please check out some of the links in the blogroll to the right. I put links there for the blogs I chiefly follow myself and they’re all blogs that I regard highly (a few are dormant, but I hope they’ll return so I keep them there).

12 Comments

Filed under Administrative posts, Personal posts

12 responses to “If you’re here through Freshly Pressed…

  1. Congrats Max! Richly deserved – here’s hoping it brings many new readers to your excellent blog.

  2. Hi Max,

    This entry is SO like you.
    I’m delighted for you, the shout-out is well-deserved. I hope it will bring your more readers and that some of these new visitors will discover Hungarian literature and other literatures in translation. I wouldn’t be reading Milan Füst right now without your review of Skylark.

    Thanks for encouraging your visitors to click on your blogroll. I checked: along with the usual how-French-men-treat-their-women visitor, someone already leaped from this entry to my blog. Thanks again.

    Emma

  3. Oh congrats Max … I was freshly pressed once – back in 2010 I think. It was very exciting. I love your follow-up post here. Nicely done!

  4. leroyhunter

    Nice post Max! Well deserved recognition as well.

    It just occurred to me I don’t “follow” blogs…out of ignorance I must blushingly confess. I visit often and the serendipity of a new post appearing appeals to me.

  5. Thank you all, and hello L Rowan, thanks for the comment.

    Emma, Milan Füst? I don’t even know the name. Interesting.

    Leroy, I follow because otherwise I miss posts, it’s one reason I prefer wordpress to blogger – it’s much more user friendly in terms of tools to help you keep track of other blogs (comment notifications and so on, and no use of captcha in the comments boxes).

  6. Couldn’t have happened to a nicer blog. :)

  7. Congratulations on the feature! Looking forward to reading more of your work.

  8. Alex, Danielle, thank you both.

  9. well done max ,you do have a great blog ,all the best stu

  10. Congrats, Max! Well deserved.

  11. Eva, Stu, thank you. Hopefully a few people will find something of interest.

Leave a Reply

